busy lives.

Taken on May, 10 2013 at York University's Keele Campus Walk.

Taken on May, 10 2013 at York University’s Keele Campus Walk.

“When we get too caught up in the busyness of the world, we lose connection with one another – and ourselves” –Jack Kornfield

We are all too busy working, studying, commuting, exercising, and our social life can be zero sometimes. Sitting on your couch and watching X-Factor is not healthy and very bad for your mood and your stress level, which definitely means bad grades and low GPA.

I would love to have a week where I study hard, I catch up with my friends over drinks, I have time to read and write, and then I have some me time. I wish I could do all of that, but it’s difficult. However you can still find time to meet up with friends, with a little bit of organisation and planning.

Just try to find the best options for you and commit to a social life on a weekly basis. You don’t need to go to the pub, but take an opportunity to discover something new and then experience it with friends. Commit to do something at least once a week and then increase your frequency.

Here are the things that I do to factor a social life into my busy university schedule:
  • Lunch dates and coffee breaks.
  • Allow yourself one day off each week.
  • Plan an evening out at least once a week.
  • Study with a friend.

A.

Comments

